As of macOS Ventura 13.1… if you select a Shared Album in the sidebar of Photos and hit the delete key, the album will disappear. As if you suddenly deleted it 🙀
I accidentally did this on Dec 11. It was a scary enough experience, that I felt compelled to email Craig Federighi, Apple’s Senior VP of Software Engineering. Craig sometimes replies to customer emails, so I figured it was worth a shot. I sent a follow-up email a few hours later:
Update and good news: since my dad owned that Shared Album, the album wasn't deleted. Instead, when I pressed the delete key, I actually removed myself from the album 🤦♂️ It's still terrible UX, but at least no data was lost.
Less than a day later, Craig himself (!) actually emailed me back with this very kind reply, which I really appreciate. It turned a briefly traumatizing customer experience into a lovely story for me to share.